+63 961-136-1161 | +63 945-833-7483

COVID-19: Duterte extends enhanced community quarantine in NCR until May 15

To stop the spread of COVID-19, President Rodrigo Duterte has extended the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in Metro Manila, Central Luzon, and Calabarzon until May 15.

Based from the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases, ECQ is also extended until May 15 in high-risk areas including Benguet, Oriental and Occidental Mindoro, Albay, and Catanduanes.

Meanwhile, according to Presidential Spokesperson Secretary Harry Roque, the quarantine status of the following provinces may change by April 30:


• Benguet
• Pangasinan
• Bataan 
• Bulacan
• Aurora
• Nueva Ecija
• Pampanga
• Tarlac
• Zambales 
• Batangas
• Laguna
• Cavite
• Rizal
• Quezon Province
• Oriental Mindoro
• Occidental Mindoro
• Albay 
• Catanduanes
• Davao Del Norte
• Davao City
• Antique
• Iloilo
• Aklan
• Capiz
• Cebu City
• Cebu
• Davao De Oro

The following areas under enhanced community quarantine meanwhile will be subject to a “recheck” by April 30.

• Benguet
• Pangasinan
• Tarlac
• Zambales 
• Antique
• Iloilo
• Cebu City
• Cebu
• Davao De Oro

The following areas, however, were identified to be under moderate risk from the pandemic:

• Negros Occidental
• Negros Oriental
• Siquijor
• Davao del Sur
• Davao Oriental
• Sultan Kudarat
• Lanao del Sur

Low-risk areas, meanwhile, are as follows:

• Abra
• Ilocos Norte
• Ilocos Sur
• Apayao
• Batanes
• Mountain Province
• Ifugao
• Kalinga
• Quirino
• La Union
• Cagayan
• Isabela
• Nueva Vizcaya
• Marinduque
• Palawan
• Romblon 
• Camarines Norte
• Camarines Sur
• Sorsogon
• Capiz
• Samar
• Western Samar
• Northern Samar
• Eastern Samar
• Masbate
• Guimaras
• Bohol
• Biliran
• Leyte
• Southern Leyte
• Zamboanga del Sur
• Lanao del Norte
• Misamis Occidental
• Misamis Oriental
• North Cotabato
• South Cotabato
• Maguindanao
• Zamboanga del Norte
• Zamboanga Sibugay
• Bukidnon
• Camiguin
• Davao Occidental
• Sarangani
• Agusan del Sur
• Dinagat Island
• Surigao del Norte
• Surigao del Sur
• Agusan del Norte
• Basilan
• Sulu

 For areas placed under general community quarantine, the following will be observed:

  • workers and sectors in category I, II and III may continue to work or operate in phases;
  • local government units shall enforce curfew at night for non-workers;
  • in any case, those with ages below 21 years old and those 60 years old and above as well as those with ages ranging from 21 years old but below 60 years old but who reside with co-morbidities or other risk factors shall stay at home
  • the general population may go out of their homes only for purposes of accessing basic necessities;
  • priority and essential construction projects may resume in accordance with guidelines as may be issued by the DPWH;
  • non-leisure stores in malls and shopping centers may partially open;
  • higher education institutions may continue classes to finish the academic year and issue credentials to students in accordance with guidelines as may be issued by the Commission on Higher Education;
  • public transportation may operate at a reduced capacity in accordace with guidelines as may be issued by the DOTr; 
  • airports and seaports may operate insofar as the unhampered movement of goods.

As of writing, the country has recorded 6,981 cases of COVID-19, including 722 recoveries and 462 fatalities.

Image source: Freepik

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *